Little Man's 10th birthday party (2012)

I just realized that I never blogged about LM’s birthday party last year! Here is a quick synopsis, and by “quick”, I mean not quick at all….

We have developed a few birthday traditions over the years. Since we rarely see him on his actual birthday, we are always able to surprise him with a party. He never knows when it’s going to happen during the summer. I think the surprise part means a lot to him. ๐Ÿ™‚

Last year, we decided to make a whole day of it. We started out by waking him up and going to the beach to watch the sunrise. It was a gorgeous morning. He drew 9 in the sand and let the waves wash it away.

IMG_6694 IMG_6902

We had breakfast at a restaurant right off the beach. (I can’t remember the name, that’s the problem with waiting a year to document :P)

IMG_4371 IMG_4373

After breakfast, we stopped by my old hospital. The girls were really excited to see us and we spent a little time catching up.

We came back home and hung out for awhile. After lunch the guys headed out to do boy things (comic book store and Best Buy). I started working on The Surprise.

IMG_4391

These little guys took a little longer than expected, so I had Jason stay away longer. I had a really fun time making Angry Birds cupcakes, but it got a little stressful there towards the end! But it was SO worth it to see the look on his face when he came in!

I had little chalk drawings going up the stairs. The story was that the Pigs were trying to steal the Birthday Cake, and the Angry Birds needed LM’s help in an Obi Wan kind of way…

IMG_4379 IMG_4380

IMG_4390

Clearly he was totally unimpressed by the whole thing….

Blowing out the candles.

IMG_6882

And then presents!

IMG_4442 IMG_4440 IMG_4437

A Tale of Two Blueys…

IMG_4417

(I’ll talk more about how I made the cupcakes in another post if anyone is interested).

After we were sufficiently loaded up with sugary cupcakes, we headed out to dinner. LM’s favorite restaurant in West Palm is Saito’s, a hibachi grill downtown. It’s really delicious and they put on a great show!

IMG_4453

IMG_6933IMG_4465IMG_4445

They even gave him a special dessert for his birthday.

IMG_4466

Love that place! My mouth is watering just thinking about going back.

We went back home and they started getting the new toys and games out to play. I was done, so I went to bed. Jason did snap a couple of pictures for me though ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_4477

It was a really great day, hopefully one he’ll remember for a long time. ๐Ÿ™‚

One thought on “Little Man's 10th birthday party (2012)”

Leave a comment