Project Life 2014- Week 5

week5 web

Project Life seems to be the only thing I’m keeping up with so far this year. The simpler approach is the ONLY reason for that, I’m pretty sure.

Last week we drove up to Nashville for Jon’s memorial service. We weren’t sure we’d be able to make it, but I’m so glad we could. It meant a lot to me that I could be there. Also, I have the Best Husband Ever. Seriously. It was a long trip and he drove the whole way. There is no one I’d rather be trapped in a car for 17 hours with.

I made four pages for this week, roughly one for each day of our trip. When I was doing double page spreads each week, I’d make a page for each day. Then on the facing page, I would use one large photo taking up the whole page. I decided to do away with the large photos this time around and just focus on photos and words. I cannot tell you how nice it is not to have to worry about papers and embellishments for these pages!.

2014PLWeek05a web

The first page is about our trip up. I always take a lot of pictures at the beginning of trips to keep myself occupied in the car. I used all instagrams, except for the last one.I think that’s going to be my go-to method for doing pages this year with big events/ trips. Photos that I post on instagram tend to be my favorites. I did the same thing a couple of weeks ago when we went to the Morikami.

Journaling reads- This week we drove up to Nashville for Jon’s memorial service. It was a sad reason to go, of course, but it was really great seeing family and friends. We drove up on Thursday and stayed with Melissa. We packed a lot of visiting into a day and a half. I saw a lot of people I haven’t seen in years. We left right after the service on Saturday and drove to Macon. We finished the trip on Sunday and got home in time to watch the Super Bowl. We also got approved for the apt. this week!

2014PLWeek05b web

Friday was the busiest day of the trip. Lots and lots of visiting.

2014PLWeek05c web

Saturday was the day of the service and the start of our trip back home. We decided to split the trip down into two days, since Jason had to go back to work on Monday. It made things a lot easier.

We tried to get a lot of group family photos this trip. Candids are my favorite, but these are very special. It’s a tricky situation because on one hand, we were there for a very sad reason, but I was also really happy to see family and friends. Lots of mixed emotions. And of course you don’t want to shove cameras at people who are grieving, so there are several people I didn’t get pictures of at all. And I’m rambling….

2014PLWeek05d web

I was going to use the last page for pics from our trip home, but I had a few random photos I wanted in there too, so it’s a mixture of both. This page doesn’t flow chronologically with the others, but I don’t care. We took a little over 600 photos that week and I wanted to include these even if they don’t make sense to anyone but me.

*Project Life was invented by Becky Higgins. You can learn more about it here. My Project Life pages can be found here.

One thought on “Project Life 2014- Week 5”

Leave a comment